Archive for Matt Kane

Tiger girls swim at state Thursday

The state girls swimming meet gets underway today at noon, when the Class A divers take to the springboard at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center in the preliminary round. The Class AA divers compete at 6 p.m.

Diving will not include any Delano girls. The Tiger swimmers will dive into the pool Thursday at noon for the Class A swimming preliminaries. Class AA begins at 6 p.m.

The swimmers and divers who survive the preliminary rounds will complete in the consolation and finals heats Friday. Class A is at noon and Class AA is at 6 p.m.

Here is Delano’s lineup for Thursday’s preliminary round with section time.

200-yard Medley Relay
Heat 2 Lane 5: Delano, 1:50.84

200-yard Freestyle
Heat 2 Lane 4: Kylie Strobl, 1:54.32
Heat 3 Lane 5: Morgan Frank, 1:54.65

200-yard Individual Medley
Heat 4 Lane 2: Laila Rosenow, 2:13.75

50-yard Freestyle
Heat 3 Lane 5: Emma Kern, 24.19

100-yard Butterfly
Heat 1 Lane 6: Laila Rosenow, 59.35

100-yard Freestyle
Heat 2 Lane 5: Kylie Strobl, 53.26

500-yard Freestyle
Heat 2 Lane 4: Morgan Frank, 5:10.10

200-yard Freestyle Relay
Heat 2 Lane 3: Delano, 1:40.36

100-yard Backstroke
Heat 3 Lane 4: Emma Kern, 56.86

400-yard Freestyle Relay
Heat 2 Lane 4: Delano 3:33.07

SWIMMING: Delano’s preliminary places/times for qualifying swimmers

Top 8 finishers will swim in the finals heats Saturday. Finishes 9-through-16 will swim in the consolation heats.
Note: The diving preliminary round is Saturday morning at 11 a.m. The championship meet, with swimming and diving, begins at 5 p.m.

Event 1: 200 Yard Medley Relay
2. Delano (Kern, Benker, Rosenow, Bobick), 1:52.97

Event 2: 200 Yard Freestyle
3. Kylie Strobl, 1:57.41
4. Morgan Frank, 1:58.00
13. Abby Seguin, 2:05.17

Event 3: 200 Individual Medley
2. Laila Rosenow, 2:15.20
12. Claire Palmer, 2:19.46
15. Sydney York, 2:22.80

Event 4: 50 Freestyle
2. Emma Kern, 24.52
12. Megan Benker, 25.62
14. Emily Bobick, 25.76

Event 6: 100 Butterfly
1. Laila Rosenow, 59.59
9. Shelby Benker, 1:02.79

Event 7: 100 Freestyle
6. Kylie Strobl, 54.39

Event 8: 500 Freestyle
2. Morgan Frank, 5:13.44
7. Abby Seguin, 5:32.89

Event 9: 200 Freestyle Relay
3. Delano (Strobl, Benker, Bobick, Frank), 1:41.25

Event 10: 100 Backstroke
1. Emma Kern, 59.28
6. Claire Palmer, 1:01.94
11. Shelby Benker, 1:05.83
13. Lexi Semeizer, 1:06.91

Event 11: 100 Breaststroke
12. Megan Benker, 1:14.26
14. Maggie Jacobs, 1:15.98

Event 12: 400 Freestyle Relay
2. Delano (Frank, Rosenow, Strobl, Kern), 3:38.77

Delano state football game available via livestream

Unable to attend Delano’s Class 4 State Semifinal football game against SMB Friday night in St. Cloud? No worries, listed to it live online at the following link:

Delano football state tournament attire available

Congratulations to the DHS Football Team for becoming the 2018 Section 6AAAA Champs! The Delano football team plays SMB in the Class 4A state quarterfinals Friday, Nov. 9, at St. Cloud State at 7 p.m.
All Season Sports has an online store set up for fans who want to buy apparel for the State Bound Tiger Football team. Orders are due today, Tuesday, Nov. 6.
Order your Football Fan apparel through this LINK

FOOTBALL: Delano’s and the rest of the Class 4A state tournament first round games, plus all the other classes

The MSHSL state football playoff pairings are set (with the exception of two section final games scheduled for Saturday). Here are the quarterfinal matchups…

Delano v SMB
Waseca v Winona
Willmar v Hermantown
St. Anthony Village v St. Paul Johnson

NCE/U-H v Cromwell-Wright
R-T-R v Spring Grove
Stephen-Argyle v Mt. Iron-Buhl
Verndale v Mt. Lake

Otter Tail Central v BOLD
United South Central v Blooming Prairie or Goodhue
Mahnomen/Waubun v Deer River
Lester Prairie/HT v Springfield

Pillager v Paynesville
NRHEG v Caledonia
Barnesville v Moose Lake-Willow River
Mpls North v Redwood Valley

Pierz v Annandale
Jordan v Rochester Lourdes or Dover-Eyota
Perham v Two Harbors
Cannon Falls v Fairmont


Elk River v Spring Lake Park
Chaska v Owatonna
Bemidji v Cambridge-Isanti
Tartan v St. Thomas Academy

Eden Prairie v Minnetonka
Blaine v Eastview
Woodbury v Lakeville South
Lakeville North v St. Michael-Albertville

To view the complete brackets, click the link below and use the drop-down menu to switch classes…

Delano wins Section 6-4a championship

Matt Kane

Sports Editor

A smothering defensive effort and a big-play second half made for a Section 6-4a championship for the Delano football team.

Sam Kern’s three second-half touchdowns were the difference in the Tigers’ 20-6 win over Zimmerman Friday night at Monticello.


In a game where catching the football was problematic at times for Delano receivers, Kern made an impressive adjustment on the football, snagged it with one hand, kept his balance, and finished the play for a 64-yard touchdown on the opening drive of the second half.

The extra point tied the game 7-7.

Kern wasn’t finished making big plays in the third quarter. On the sixth play of Delano’s next drive, Kern busted through the line, sprinted through the open field, pulled a Thunder defender, and rolled over another into the end zone for a 38-yard touchdown run.

The kick gave Delano a 14-7 lead.

Kern’s third touchdown didn’t come in the third quarter, but on the first play of the fourth. It was a two-yard.

Delano’s defense kept Zimmerman’s offense frustrated all night.

At the start of the game,  the Tigers bent not did not break, as the Thunder drove 67 yards on 13 plays to the Delano 4-yard line. That’s where the drive stopped when Delano made a goal line stand.

Zimmerman’s touchdown came early in the second quarter on a drive that started on a short field after Delano failed to convert a fake punt late in the first quarter.

The Tigers were all over the Thunder offense the rest of the way. Delano recorded six quarterback sacks and recovered two Zimmerman fumbles.

Next up for Delano is the state tournament. The Tigers (7-3) play Section 5 champion SMB, which is 10-0, Friday night at St. Cloud State. Kickoff is at 7 pm.

SMB defeated Benilde-St. Margaret’s 16-14 in the section finals.